Tiong Bahru Food Centre

Exploring the food market at Tiong Bahru Food Centre.

Came here at 3pm and it was pretty empty as most of the food stalls were closed. I have noticed that a lot of food centre stalls in Singapore close between lunch and dinner (closed from ~3pm and reopen between 5-6:30pm) – lesson learned!

Dishes are not described in great detail (at least for newcomer like me) so I am often left to choose by instinct, a picture of the dish, the name of the dish or some combination thereof – which makes most meals a bit of an adventure.  I ordered a fried spicy Char Kway Teow from stall #02-08…wide flat noodles stir fried with eggs, bacon (I think), bean  sprouts, some greens and clams as well. The noodles were thin, slightly on the salty side and easy to eat. I did find the clams a bit too flavorful for my liking.  As I found out later, the clams are called cockles or see-ham, a local delicacy.

Also tried a dragon fruit juice – beautiful purplish pink color and refreshing, tasted delicate and unsuspectedly cucumber-like.
Leave a Reply

